Play That Trombone

This post is a continuation of the beginning of  the previous post (below).

A few weeks back I learned of the musician Trombone Shorty in a short interview with a celebrity of some sort (actress, maybe). She described him as playing trombone like Hendrix played guitar. Intrigued I when to Spotify and found his songs. The first one featured Warren Haines on guitar, I hit play and went back to my paper. While the third song was playing, this monster guitar solo cranked up and I ran to see who it was. It was Jeff Beck!

Now I’ll describe the above through a brand perspective.

I immediately was struck by the brand name, ie, I thought it was cool. This not only speaks to the naming, but it also is a way for him to announce himself to his target market. Since I found his name cool, I made the assumption I would like his music. He made the same assumption. His name alone was powerful enough to be ‘a call to action’, as I immediately cued him up.

My inability to retrieve the woman’s name now or even maybe 5 minutes after I turned the page, means that to me, her Brand does not exist.

Her description of his style of playing is a great example of Brand Image and shows her to be a Brand ambassador which for me was also an important part of the call to action.

Before I heard the first note I was exposed to a Brand association because Mr. Haines’ name (Brand) was easy for me to retrieve from my long-term memory.  He being of The Allman Brothers Band, Gov’t Mule and more side projects than you shake a guitar pick at. Ditto the Jeff Beck association, albeit, a much stronger one for me.

All of this transpired in mere moments.

XXX

I am not suggesting this how everyone should understand and process a new exposure to a Brand. But if you are a business owners it would be wise to think along these lines.

 

HAPPY HOLIDAYS

Published in: on December 17, 2013 at 2:52 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jakzen.wordpress.com/2013/12/17/play-that-trombone/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment